RSS

FIRE!!

21 Aug

Over my Birthday week.   Birthday eve to be exact (25 July) we were visiting Steph’s family cottage in Macatawa Mi for the week.  Taylor and I were going for a ride in the bus down US31.  Just south of the Saugatuk exit I noticed that the engine lost power.  Taylor mentioned he smelled gas.  We pulled over and I saw that the engine was on fire!  I grabbed the fire extinguisher, which didn’t work.  A Spartan truck  pulled up and gave Taylor an extinguisher and he put out the fire.

State Farm was very helpful.  they totaled the bus and offered me $12,151.00.  I bought the bus back for $2500 and still have $9600 for repairs.  From the initial look, it appears that only the distributor and coil are melted along with the hoses.  There was still power to the ignition and the motor still turns.  I’m thinking with an engine rebuild and some body work, Ill be back in business with funds left over for other projects.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “FIRE!!

  1. Tristan

    August 21, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    At least it was contained to the engine bay and it didn’t get too far out of control. Hopefully repairs go smooth and quick!

     
    • busjunkie

      August 22, 2011 at 10:51 am

      Thanks. I’m pretty hopefull.

       
  2. DGM

    September 14, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    Yikes! Sorry to hear about this. I am glad you guys are okay!

    This might be a good time to find a rear engine hatch that has the correct mount for the support to keep it open. If I remember right, the one I used in the resto was wrong and the support wouldn’t work. Didn’t work that out until after I had ol’ Kermit painted!

    Dan

     

Leave a Reply

 
