RSS

Irish Hills

01 Jul

Had a great weekend camping!  Started off the trip on Thursday to get the bus all packed.  Found out my friend was playing at the Ball Joint in Battle Creek.  I’m not sure if I have heard ever him play with a valid ID….. man those were the days.  They sounded great and it was a real treat for me to see them.

Jim "Mouse" Klein

Friday we went to the Irish hills camping to a place called the Jado campground, which is a few miles east of the Michigan International Speedway. We had about 20 buses total which I understand was more than last year.  I heard about the event via flyer at the Buses by the Beach.

There were some folks there I met from the Dixie Bus event last year, which was very cool.  I’m beginning to see how a close community that us bus folks are!  They are the head of the Michigan Vintage Volkswagen Club, who hosts the show in Ypsilanti that I have wanted to attend.  Of course, I met many new folks as well.  It wasn’t long before the boys were part of a crew.  They spent the weekend at the marsh trying to catch frogs.  On Saturday the worlds largest slip and slide was erected for young and old alike to enjoy.  My back has been feeling pretty good lately, so I stood my some other folks, chatted with them and watched.

Saturday evening, we had popcorn, hotdogs, meat balls, a nice fire and band to entertain us. The guys traded off playing so we had music from about 5pm till dark.  One of the hosts was a long distance coach of the musicians, so they were willing to play for donation.

Sunday we had a community breakfast.  I was making blueberry cobbler, which I promptly burned.  At least some folks there knew I could actually make it.  Need to learn to cook over the fire.  I used charcoal last time.  It rained on breakfast, but that didn’t damped out spirits  we moved to cover and enjoyed the morning.  Can’t wait for the next trip!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 1, 2010 in Fun Stuff

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
