RSS

Every Question Deserves an Answer

09 Nov

I asked in my last post what else could happen and I got an answer.  Seems Kermit has a minor electrical problem.  When I turn the right turn signal on, both tail lights and license plate light blink too. The front works fine and the left works as designed.  Who needs turn signals anyway?  According to  this article in the Chicago Sun-Times, 57% of Americans don’t use them anyway.  However at $75.00 a ticket, I think that I will see what I can do th get the right one operational.  I have been looking at the wiring diagram for my model year and it is helpful to a point.  I wish I could see the schematic diagram of the switches, which would help a lot.  Anyway I took some data on the directional swich and came up with the following:

Static No Lights
BGW
12v
BR
0v
BY
0v
BP
0v
BG
0v
BW
0v
Static Lights
BGW
12v
BR
12v
BY
12v
BP
12v
BG
0v
BW
0v
Left No Lights
BGW
Flash
BR
0v
BY
Flash
BP
0v
BG
0v
BW
Flash
Left Lights
BGW
Flash
BR
12v
BY
Flash
BP
12v
BG
0v
BW
Flash
Right No Lights
BGW
Flash
BR
Flash
BY
0v
BP
0v
BG
Flash
BW
0v
Right Lights
BGW
12v
BR
12v
BY
0v
BP
0v
BG
12v
BW
0v
Static Flasher
BGW
12v
BR
Flash
BY
Flash
BP
Flash
BG
0v
BW
0v
Flasher Lights
BGW
12v
BR
12v
BY
12v
BP
12v
BG
0v
BW
0v

So the data appears to be correct for both the left and right signals, so it is probably a bad ground.  Something is not isolated.  Not sure if this will get corrected before Spring or not,  Going to take him back to Michigan over Thanksgiving to sleep in the Pole Barn in Athens for the Winter.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 9, 2008 in Maintenance, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
