RSS

New Engine Notes

14 Jul

I looked a little closer at the new engine yesterday. I think I did notice is that it has dual exhaust with chrome tips! It has a Solex 34 PICT-3 carb, which was the original carb on a 1600 DP engine from 1971 to 1974. The distributor is a dual vaccum 049 instead of the .009 in the old motor. I don’t know enough about distributors yet to know difference . . . .

However, according to Bob Hoover, ” the overwhelming majority of VW owners — and manufacturers — have found that a distributor incorporating vacuum-advance not only gives better mileage but prolongs the life of the engine.” That is good enough for me to keep the 049 in Kermit.

I have found that neither engine has a thermostat or the cooling flaps. Since I know the engine overheated and that I can reduce the temperature another 15 to 17% by installing these, I searched The Samba and found that a person had the HW I needed for a great price!

Bob Hoover has also written articles on the importance of this part of the cooling system. He has also provided a procedure on how to restore this system. The bottom line is, the engineers from Volkswagen felt that their engines needed this cooling system to run efficiently. I know i’m not qualified to argue. Besides I don’t know many folks that take thermostats out of their water cooled vehicles. I did notice that the exhaust manifold in the left hand side has a rust hole, so I’ll swap with the old engine.

I ordered some tuneup parts, Oil Cooler and manifold gaskets today. I forgot the oil screen, but I’m sure I’ll need something else before it’s all over.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 14, 2008 in Maintenance, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
