RSS

What Happened??

06 Jul

First of all big thanks to my cousin John and Gary for helping with the maint this weekend.  We got the engine puled and found that it is in fact seized.  Now we need to determine the cause.  I was a little concerned when I first pulled the engine and saw the inside of the trans axle.

Gene told me this was not a concern since the bus was converted from 6v to 12v and this was done to accommodate the 12v flywheel.  I was curious on how the housing so marred up and the flywheel looked so good.  Now the root cause.  Gene gave me some homework to do, which I will do when we get back from Michigan next week.  This will also give me the opportunity to take off parts from the old engine to the new.  I don’t think I have mentioned this, but I did determine that the blown engine is a 1600 DP too.  I was able to determine this by the AE engine code.  So anyway the homework . . .

  • Take out the spark plugs, label them, and take pics for inspection
  • Smell and feel the oil that was drained – It was slippery and had a faint smell of gasoline
  • Check the thermostat and or the presence of
  • Look at the heads and find out what went wrong.
  • Verify the jet size on the carb.  It should be ~127 for 1600 120 is too small
  • Take a picture of the starter for Gene
  • Look into a doghouse cooler
  • Electronic ignition or points.

We did find that a wire on the voltage regulator had a bad connection and that the alternator wasn’t charging the battery.  In fact the battery was so low that we couldn’t use it to test the starter.  We also noticed that the bendix didn’t engage all the time, so I need to make sure I have a good connection, or maybe the starter is bad.  So back to the charging issue, Gene said (I hope I get this right) that it is possible that the lower voltage caused the plugs not to fire properly and caused the engine to overheat. Looking at the plugs should help determine that.  Other thoughts include cheap (regular) gas, which is hard to determine with out knowing the original compression of the engine.

Other notes:

I averaged 20.9 mpg.  The run from Atlanta to Chattanooga was the worst at only 17mpg.  After that I averaged 22.1 mpg.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 6, 2008 in Maintenance

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “What Happened??

  1. Daniel Morris

    September 8, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    I had Peek Performance in Lanham, MD clearance the bellhousing to allow for the 12 volt flywheel. If I remember correctly they modified the gearing ratio in the transmission too.

    Dan

     

Leave a Reply

 
